- Women's Studies Database
A comprehensive directory of Women's Studies sites. Contains conference announcements, calls for papers, course syllabi, and employment opportunities, a picture gallery, a significant number of government documents, and much more.
- Women's Studies Online Resources
Frequently updated, annotated links to sites containing resources and information about women's studies/women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program. Topical listings and one large alphabetical list; A frequently-updated listing and description of approximately 600 e-mail lists that focus on women- or gender-related issues. Includes topical subsections; A list of more than 600 other Women's Studies Programs, Departments, and Research Centers in the U.S. and abroad.
- WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Distributed, annotated directory of women's studies resources. Directory includes pages on Archives; Art & Film; Culture; Education; Health; History; International; Lesbian; Music; Philosophy; Politics; and Science & Technology. Maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries Division of the American Library Association.
- American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
This site "contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication 'American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States' ... with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site." Includes books, maps, manuscripts, music, images, and other research materials. Browsable and searchable. From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress.
- Feminist Theory Website
This academically oriented site is divided into three parts. There are over 80 individual feminist biographies with related bibliographies, and a section divided by ethnic or national feminists within 7 geographical regions. The third section includes bibliographies relating to feminist themes within 30 different fields of study. Presented in English as well as French and Spanish, this site includes links to many other feminist topics.
- Other Women's Voices
This site collects translations of women's writing before 1700 from Europe, Asia and the Middle East. Some are fulltext while others are excerpted.
- Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College
The Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College is an internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, archives, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history. the Collection consists of approximately 650 collections (over 10,000 linear feet) of material in manuscript, print, and audiovisual formats. The holdings document the historical experience of women in the United States and abroad from the colonial era to the present. Subject strengths include birth control and reproductive rights, women's rights, suffrage, the contemporary women's movement across race, class, and sexual orientation, U.S. women working abroad, the arts (especially theatre), the professions (especially journalism and social work), and middle-class family life in nineteenth- and twentieth-century New England. Many of these collections are rich sources of visual, as well as manuscript and printed material.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
This searchable, annotated index "covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages." More than 600 journals, beginning in 1994, are included. Materials in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian are indexed. There are also a few links to related sites. Formerly The Medieval Feminist Index.
- Early Modern Women Database
Covering c. 1500-1800, this database provides access to resources about women in Europe and the Americas. Content can be accessed through various indexes (title, subject, publication type, language, time period, geographic region) or by utilizing the search engine. EMW contents include bibliographic databases and full-text resources enhanced by images and sound recordings.
- Women Immigrants, 1945 to the Present
This bibliography is an effort to collect the current international literature on women immigrants. It is a supplement and update of the publication, Women in Global Migration, 1945-2000: A Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Bibliography that is available from Greenwood Press. The books, journals, essays, government reports and doctoral dissertations listed here treat all aspects of the lives and issues concerning women who are living permanently or for long periods outside their country of origin or who have migrated for fixed periods of time on work contracts.
- Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- Women Working, 1870-1930
This project by Harvard's Open Collections Program provides online access to digitized historical, manuscripts, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. WW contains more than 2,000 books and pamphlets, 1,000 photographs and over 4,000 pages from manuscript collections and continues to grow.
- Feminist Majority Foundation
- Institute for Women's Policy Research
- National Organization for Women
- National Women's Studies Association
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 20 Feb 03. Last update: 4 Apr 2012