Theatre
Theatre Article Databases | Guides for Library Research for Theater History and Beyond
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations
For Starters
- International Theatre Design Archives
The goal of this web site is to provide access to images and information about theatre productions from around the world. The site specifics houses images of scenic, costume and lighting designs for various productions. Submissions are reviewed by a committee, so they are of the highest quality. - Internet Broadway Database
IBDB archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Get a list of every production of Hamlet on Broadway or a list of your favorite actor's credits. Find out what played at a particular theatre or what shows opened in a specified Broadway season. - The Intuitions College Theatre Guide
A guide to college theatre resources. - Medieval Drama Links
Annotated collection of links organized by: Texts, Articles, and Books; Performance, Set design, Props & Make-up, and Discussion groups; Costumes, Illustrated material; Music & Dance; Instruments; Other Medieval Drama Lists; and Other Theatre links. - Theatre and Drama: World Wide Web Virtual Library
Provides links to a broad range of professional, academic, and recreational resources from around the world. - The London Theatre Guide--Online
Guide is as complete as possible for Westend theatre listings. - Playbill
Includes theatre news, listings of current performances both on and off Broadway, and feature articles. - Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
Annotated guide to the scholarly resources available on the Internet. - Theatre Images
Collection of links to theatrical pictures. - The Dramatic Exchange
A site for playwrights to publish and distribute their plays.
Sub-topics
Catalogs of Theatre Publications | Costumes | Reviews, Awards & Seating Charts
- Catalogs of Theatre Publications
- Baker's Plays
The site provides an online catalog of plays available for purchase, as well as a Theatre Resource Directory for stage equipment, costumes, lighting, and other items. - Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
"Created to foster opportunity and provide support for playwrights by publishing acting editions of plays handling the nonprofessional leasing right for these plays." - Eldridge Plays & Musicals
Plays and musicals for all occasions. - Internet Theatre Bookshop
Associated with Amazon.com, offers a catalog of available plays, musicals, books on stagecraft and theatre biographies. - ShowbizBooks.com
A giant selection of Film, TV and Performing Arts books. - Small-Cast One-Act Guide Online
A source for one-act scripts having four or fewer actors. - Stage & Screen: The Book Club for the Performing Arts
Provides a catalog of the theatre-related books that are available for purchase.
- Baker's Plays
- Back to the top
- Costumes
- Milieux: The Costume Source
Extensive list of sources related to costumes. - The Costume Page
A guide to costume-related resources. - Elizabethan Costuming Page
A searchable site that includes information, drawings, and photos about clothing for peasant, middle, and upper class men and women from the Tudor and Elizabethan periods (sixteenth century) in English history. In addition there are extensive period illustrations, patterns for making everything from shoes to hats, information on Elizabethan fabrics and colors, and some information on costume of the time outside of England. Also available is a bibliography and costuming sources and supplies.
- Milieux: The Costume Source
- Back to the top
- Reviews, Awards, and Seating Charts
- Playbill Seating Chart
Gives seating charts for U.S. and U. K. theatres. - Theatre Reviews Limited
A Web site for reviews of current Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway shows in New York City. - New York Theatre-wire
Advance news of what's playing on New York's stages.
- Playbill Seating Chart
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Back to the topAssociations & Organizations
- American Alliance for Theatre and Education
- American Association of Community Theatre
- American Society for Theatre Research
Created by Randy Abbott on 17 Jun 99. Last update: 24 Sep 07