Sociology
For Starters | Sub-topics | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
For Starters
- Social Science Data Archives
"Provides a wide variety of links to massive amounts of information not available in traditional formats." - Social Science Information Gateway
"Aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law." - Social Sciences Virtual Library
"This documents keeps track of information as part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library. Sites are inspected and evaluated for their accuracy as information sources before they are linked from here." - Sociological Tour of Cyberspace
"A thoughtful listing of important sociology resources of all types on the Internet." - SocioSite
"The SocioSite is designed to get access to information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists. It has been designed from a global point of view - it gives access to the world wide scene of social sciences."
Sub-topics
Population & Communities | Marriage & Family | Research in Sociology | Aging | Deviance & Crime | Popular Culture
- Population & Communities
- American FactFinder
"American FactFinder is the primary online census data dissemination site from the U.S. Bureau of the Census. The interface lets users browse, search, and map data from the 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the American Community Survey, and Census 2000." - Population Reference Bureau
PRB's mission is to be the leader in providing timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. This site presents one-page summaries with colorful graphs on selected topics. - International Data Base (IDB)
"The IDB contains demographic and socio-economic statistics for all countries of the world, combining data from country sources (especially censuses and surveys) with IPC's estimates and projections to provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050."
- American FactFinder
- Back to the top
- Marriage & Family
- ChildStats.Gov
"This website provides links to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education." - Kids Count
The Annie E. Casey Foundation: provides national and state benchmarks for indicators of child well-being in the U.S. - National Survey of Families and Households
"After reading the online documentation, follow the link to the ftp site for downloading. There is also an excellent bibliography on the site." - Panel Study of Income Dynamics
"The PSID is a longitudinal survey of a representative sample of US individuals and their families, ongoing since 1968. The data were collected each year through 1997, and every other year starting in 1999. Topics include income and wealth, expenses, education, and health care."
- ChildStats.Gov
- Back to the top
- Research in Sociology
- Gallup Research Center
"The Gallup Research Center concentrates on all areas of survey research and quantitative methods, including public opinion, consumer and employee satisfaction, and data utilization in the workplace." - Resources for Methods in Evaluation and Social Research
"This virtual library of briefly annotated links lists FREE resources for methods in evaluation and social research. The focus is on "how-to" do evaluation research and the methods used: surveys, focus groups, sampling, interviews, and other methods." - Social Science Data Analysis Network
"exhibit provides an overview of workbooks, computer diskettes, Internet, and on-line access to undergraduate teaching materials available through the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN)." - Sociological Research Online
"Sociological Research Online publishes high quality applied sociology, focusing on theoretical, empirical and methodological discussions which engage with current political, cultural and intellectual topics and debates."
- Gallup Research Center
- Back to the top
- Aging
- AGing Integrated Database
AGID is an on-line query system based on AoA-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau. The system allows users to produce customized tables in a step-by-step process and output the results in print or spreadsheet form. - AARP
"AARP is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to addressing the needs and interests of persons 50 and older." - Merck Manual of Geriatrics
"Full-text and searchable title (3rd edition, 2000) from Merck's family of medical references." - AgingStats.Gov
"This site features a report called Older Americans 2000: Key Indicators of Well-Being that covers 31 key indicators selected to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families." - Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral
"Excellent collection of information. Includes research news, an extensive collection of online publications, and a clinical trials database." - Grandparent Foundation
"Dedicated to raising grandparent consciousness to better the lives of grandchildren, parents and grandparents."
- AGing Integrated Database
- Back to the top
- Deviance & Crime
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Campus Security Statistics
"This site provides a searchable database of campus crime statistics from 1998 to 2000 for over 6000 colleges and universities." - NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
"The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 600 tables." - United States Department of Justice
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Back to the top
- Popular Culture
- Articles About Popular Culture
University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies - PopCultures.com
Cultural Studies Center - RoadsideAmerica.com
Offbeat tourist attractions
- Articles About Popular Culture
- Back to the top
Associations & Organizations
- American Geriatrics Society
- American Society of Criminology
- American Sociological Association
- Association for Humanist Sociology
- Society for Applied Sociology
Other Internet Guides
- SocioLog
"This categorized guide to sociology online has links to general and specific topic resources; university departments, research institutes, and other organizations; journals; mailing lists; and sites on individual sociologists." - Tolerance.org
"Tolerance.org is a principal online destination for people interested in dismantling bigotry and creating, in hate's stead, communities that value diversity."
Created by Randy Abbott on 25 Jul 03. Last update: 15 Sep 11 mas