Political Science & International Studies
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
Political Science Article Databases
For Starters
- Political Science Resources
Brought to you by Richard Kimber, this excellently organized Web site provides links to significant resources in political sciences. Sections like "Manifestos," "Constitutions" and "Political Theory" make this site unique. - All Politics
Brought to you by CNN Interactive, AllPolitics.com contains current news stories about happenings in US politics. A searchable archive helps find information older than 3 days. - Inter-Parlimentary Union
With links to national parliaments or governing bodies, IPU's web site extends its mission ot serve as a focal point for dialogue between world governing bodies. - Political Science Resources on the Web
Excellent jumping off point! This site is very well organized, easy to use and crammed full of worthwhile links. - Political Science Virtual Library
Listings for libraries, ftp sites, listservs, newsgroups and much more are available on this Virtual Library. - PollingReport.Com
Students, faculty and researchers will find lots of polling data in the fields of political science, journalism, business and health or social sciences available at this site. PollingReport.com makes available for free the information published twice monthly in its print counterpart, Polling Report. This site is well organized and easy to use. - Ultimate Political Science Links
Fast loading and easy to navigate, this site prides itself on being current, encompassing and quick.
Sub-topics
Government - US and International | Political Parties | Voting Records | Campaign Finance | International Studies
- Government
- United States
- FirstGov.gov -- Official Website for searching U.S. Government Information
The first-ever government website to provide the public with easy, one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources. FirstGov allows users to browse a wealth of information - everything from researching at the Library of Congress to tracking a NASA mission. - State and Local Government on the Net
- THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet
- House of Representatives
- Senate
- The White House
- Supreme Court
Produced by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University, this excellent Web site has links to current decisions, biographies of all justices, calendars, plus much more. - International
- CIA World Fact Book - data packed country profiles
- Embassy World.com
- European Union - information on the structure, policies, news and much more.
- NATO
- National Parliaments on the Web
- Back to the top
- Political Parties
- For more choices, click here.
- Communist Party - USA
Citing the failure of the capitalist party system, CP-USA Web site lists the tenets of their philosophy, state contacts, publications by the organization, as well as membership information. - Constitution Party
Formerly the US Taxpayers' Party, it was founded on Labor Day Weekend in 1992. The Constitution Party's political philosophy stands "on the principles of government laid down by the Founding Fathers in the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution." A bit confusing at first, the Web site describes USTP's stance on various issues. An archive of speeches, articles and other documents is available. - Democratic National Committee
Easy to navigate, some of the features include voting for the seven least-favorite GOP candidates, the Democratic Platform and its effects on the typical American family and F-RIGHT-ening Facts. Links to state and county Democratic party sites are quickly located. - Green Party
This Web site of the Association of State Green Parties espouses their political philosophy quite eloquently. "Vote your hopes, not your fears!" Shouldn't we all be a little green? - Libertarian Party
A quiz to determine if you are a closet Libertarian, upfront party philosophies and state information are a few of the items you see when first getting to this Web site. - Natural Law Party
Founded on the principle of applying the laws of nature (or natural law) to politics, this Web site provides detailed information to support their philosophy. Links to news, state organizations and a detailed platform statement are a few choices. - Reform Party
Devoted to re-establishing trust in government, the Reform Party was brought to national attention by Ross Perot in 1992. This Web site is excellent to use, with quick links to voluneer forms, the party's constitution and lawsuits where the Reform Party is named and many other interesting links. - Republican National Committee
Besides the general GOP information readily available, some highlights are the online gift store, the "World According to Al Gore (see what he created today)," and online activism section. Links to state GOP organizations are included. Note: This site is slow to load. - Socialist Party
Digusted with the capitalist system, the Socialists have assembled an excellent Web site that delinates their positions, allows quick assess to state and local organizations and proudly displays their national newspaper, The Socialist.
- Communist Party - USA
- Back to the top
- Voting Records
- Project Vote Smart
Tracking the voting records of over 13,000 public officers in federal, state and local governments, PVS's site is easy to search for fast and enlightening information. - Congress Merge
Individual voting records for the current Congress. Select a state, then a Member, then Voting History under Political Profile. - C-SPAN
Votes arranged by subject, month, and key vote - Federal Election Commission
Besides general information about every aspect of federal elections, there is also links to information on campaign finance rules.
- Project Vote Smart
- Back to the top
- Campaign Finance
- Follow the Money
Monitors campaign contributions by individuals, businesses, special interest groups, and industry sectors for state elections held 1990 through 1998. Visitors may search the database for contributions by people or groups in one or more elections;view summary reports for selected states; or read analyses of specific elections and spending patterns by special interest groups (such as the National Rifle Association and the gambling industry).
- Follow the Money
- Back to the top
- International Relations
- International Studies - WWW Virtual Library
An excellent Web site that organizes massive amounts of information in an easy to access way. Links to other virtual libraries are here. If you go to only 1 sight, choose this one. - Canadian Institute of International Affairs
With links to various government agencies (both North American and International), there are links for journals, e-zines, research centers, newspapers, discussion lists and much more. - International Network Information Centers
The objective of this page is to provide international users with access to academic databases and information services worldwide, and to provide area studies scholars around the world with access to information on and from the regions covered by different Centers. - UN Multimedia
This site maintained by the UN's Office of Public Information contains four main categories (News Centre, Radio, Television & Video, and Photo). Check out the News Centre!
- International Studies - WWW Virtual Library
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Political Reference Desk
An online version of the 1999-2000 Political Reference Almanac, this site offers the same excellent information for free. Make sure you select the tab that says GUESTS on the top right of the screen. - Internet Encyclopedia of International Relations
The entries in this encyclopedia include theories, concepts, ideas, definitions, and events in international relations. The entries were written by students in courses at Towson University.
Associations & Organizations
For other choices, click here or here.
- American Political Science Association
- The Brookings Institution
- Cato Institute
- Center for Strategic and International Studies
- International Political Science Association
- Midwest Political Science Association
- Southern Political Science Association
- United Nations
- Western Political Science Association
Other Internet Guides
- History of Televised Presidential Debates
- Political Science -- Yahoo
Yahoo is an expansive directory of Internet sites where you should find what you are looking for. - Virginia Tech's Links and Tools
A large site with a navigational table on the first page. - Political Information.com
Part of the DC Orbit Network, a group providing Web-based information tailored to the needs of the Washington DC political community, Political Information.com is a targeted search engine covering over 2,000 political and policy sites. Help is provided at the site on how to structure your search to retrieve exactly the items you want. Although Political Information.com touts the sites it indexes as the best sources of political information, a list of what's covered is not provided. - Political Science: A Net Station
- Women in Politics
Created by the Inter-Parliamentary Union in coorperation with the UN Development Programme, this database currently cites over 650 titles, including books, articles, book chapters, and other organizational and governmental publications about women in politics.
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 3 Jun 99. Last update: 17 May 07