For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
- Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
Peter Suber's [Earlham College] comprehensive guide to resources available in various categories, including jobs, teaching/learning, quotations, and preprints. While the guide is comprehensive, it will never by complete, which Suber believes is unattainable. The statement about what is omitted from the Guide is a nice bonus.
While tied to the subscription-based American Journal of Bioethics, this site provides a wealth of information about medical ethics and health care.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy
Organized by Alan Liu, this is another large collection of philosophy links. Some sections you will find here include course syllabi, journals, calls for papers and existentialism. All of the links are organized on one, long page.
- Secular Web
Produced by the Internet Infidels, Inc., a "non-profit organization dedicated to providing information over the Internet about the existence of a god, church/state separation, the possibility of life after death, mysticism and the paranormal, and the interface between science and religion," this site provides historical and modern full-text articles on those topics as well as current new items and links to rebuttal materials. Covers such topics as: Atheism, Materialism, Naturalism, Secular Humanism, Agnosticism, and Freethought.
- Philosophy Research Base
Annotated directory of thousands of philosophy resources covering the following areas: ancient, medieval, modern, 19th century, 20th century, major issues, feminism, ecofeminism, ecology, queer theory, and American. There's also a directory of useful resources and tools for budding philosophers. The site is searchable and has indexes by subject, major philosophical topic, and by name of philosopher.
- Philosophy Bites
A series of podcasts by David Edmonds and Nigel Warburton, honorary research associates of The Institute of Philosophy.
- Back to the top
- Ethics Updates
One-stop shopping for Web resources on ethics. Topics include abortion, ethical relativism, Aristotle and virtue ethics, and ethical egoism, to name a few. Class lectures under most topics make this an interesting site to visit. Other resources for educators include syllabi and a pre-print paper forum.
- Ethics World
Intended to serve as a "gateway for Ethics news and analysis," this site is organized into 6 areas: news, ethics and employees, corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, public sector governance and news from NGOs.
- Ethics Updates
- Back to the top
- Online Texts
EpistemeLinks.com: Electronic Texts Database
EpistemeLinks.com: Philosophy Resources on the Internet has updated their collection of links to electronic texts in Philosophy available on the Web. The database supplies "over 800 links to electronic texts by famous philosophers throughout history." Currently, users can search only by author, but "in the future the texts will also be categorized and searchable by subject area and time period."
- Perseus Project
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond, which is constructed of textual and visual materials.
- Plato's Dialogues
There is a list of all his works with links to those available on the Internet, including the English translations and the Greek texts.
- An Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin Texts
This bibliography of Latin texts composed during and after the Renaissance are available for free on the Web. Text subjects include: philology, philosophy, theology, music, mathematics, and medicine.
- On-Line Books Page
Project Gutenberg's newest offspring, On-Line Books provides access to over 9,000 fulltext books. You can search by subject, browse by title or by author.
- EpistemeLinks.com: Electronic Texts Database
- Back to the top
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Billed as a "dynamic encyclopedia", this work is still in progress. The potential dynamic contents will one day offer scholars and students of philosophy a comprehensive, background resourse. [Dynamic is defined as a constantly evoluting, updated and reviewed effort.]
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The contents of this encyclopedia are derived from public domain documents, classroom materials and articles submitted by professional philosophers. Entries vary in length from two screens to over ten. Excellent Web site for background information.
- Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy. It was created and organized by Garth Kemerling.
- The Ism Book
Peter Saint-André's online version of his Ism Book, written in 1990. Included in this dictionary are the popular meanings of the isms, their definitions, and various viewpoints in all the branches of philosophy. A topical index is available to make finding information easier.
- Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This encyclopedia's speciality is its ability to search 7 different encyclopedias of philosophy and present the results in one place.
For a list of more organizations, click here.
- American Philosophical Association
- American Society for Aesthetics
- Society for Philosophical Inquiry
- Pathways to Philosophy
Pathways to Philosophy is based at Sheffield University and run in association with the Philosophical Society of England. This website contains a wealth of information about philosophy and it is particularily helpful for those students studying philosophy for the first time.
- Philosophy Pages
An excellent starting point for studying Philosophy.
- The Paideia Project On-Line
Although the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy was held in August 1998, this online archive of contributed papers has continued to evolve, adding both new papers and sections on an almost weekly basis. At time of review, the archive contained some 634 papers, searchable by keyword or browseable by over 40 subject categories. The full texts of the papers are offered in html format, prefaced by an abstract. Please note that some papers are not available in English. Users may also access a record of all contributed papers presented at the Twentieth World Congress at the site.
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 3 Jun 99. Last update: 10 Jan 12