Nursing
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations
For Starters
- The Future of Nuring: Leading Change, Advancing Health
In 2008, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Insitute of Medicine launched a two-year initiative to respond to the need to assess and transform the nursing profession. This report is the result of that study. - Lippincott's Nursing Center
This site offers links to various and sundry kinds of resources, but it is especially useful to career searches and related sources. Includes the 2007 American Journal of Nursing Career Guide. - Internet Resources for Nurse Practitioner Students
This site gives links to categories of web sites for primary care, case studies, HIV/AIDS, women's health, pediatric, and alternative healing resources not only suitable to students but to health care professionals and serious researchers as well. - Bioethics.net
While tied to the subscription-based American Journal of Bioethics, this site provides a wealth of information about medical ethics and health care. - Mayo Clinic's Health Oasis
Site is directed by a team of Mayo physicians, scientists, writers and educators. Updated each weekday. - MEDLINEplus
Do not confuse this site with MEDLINE. It allows the researcher to search MEDLINE but it gives access to much, much more: health and medical dictionaries, libraries, and a classified list of Health Topics - Internet Journal of Advanced Nursing Practice
Sub-topics
Government Information Sites | Nutrition | Gerontology Sites | Alternative Medicine Sites
- Government Information Sites
- Healthfinder
This Web site, offered by health agencies and other reputable sources on hundreds of health topics, covers a wide range of trustworthy information from over 550 other Web sites, has over 500 online documents including health publications, technical literature, and connects the user to online discussion and self-help groups. - National Institutes of Health
This site has links to all sorts of disease and health-related topics covered by NIH-sponsored research. This will include links to all the Institutes and Offices which comprise NIH and grants and research training supplied by NIH. - National Library of Medicine
This government agency gives access to other health-related links and provides a 24-hour MEDLINE search service. - National Cancer Institute
- National Center for Health Statistics
- WomensHealth.Gov
This wonderful site of information about women's health also includes access to a free database with national, state and county data on chronic and infectious diseases, reproductive health, mortality and more. - U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- World Health Organization
- Healthfinder
- Back to the top
- Nutrition
- Blonz Guide: Nutrition, Food & Health Resources
Targeting the fields of Nutrition, Foods, Food Science & Health. Dr. Ed Blonz has an M.S. and a Ph.D. in nutrition and over 25 years of experience. - Children's Nutrition Research Center (CNRC)
Baylor College of Medicine: dedicated to defining the nutrient needs of healthy children.
- Blonz Guide: Nutrition, Food & Health Resources
- Back to the top
- Gerontology Sites
- Administration on Aging
The main starting point for gerontology-related resources on the Web. - Institute of Gerontology
- National Institute on Aging
One of the National Institutes of Health, the NIA promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social and behavioral research and public education.
- Administration on Aging
- Back to the top
- Alternative Medicine Sites
- Acupuncture.com
Interactive, student resources, background in traditional Chinese medicine. - National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
NCCAM is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine. Its mission is to define, through rigorous scientific investigation, the usefulness and safety of complementary and alternative medicine interventions and their roles in improving health and health care. - Ask Dr. Weil
Noted alternative medicine advocate's website.
- Acupuncture.com
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Back to the topAssociations & Organizations
Back to the topCreated by Randy Abbott on 23 Jun 99. Last update: 20 Mar 12 mas