Music
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
For Starters
- Digital Scores Collection
- Petrucci Music Library
a wiki=based repository of musical scores. - Classical Composers Database
- Center for Black Music Research
"CBMR is a research organization conducting musicological research in all genres of black music throughout the world." - Choral Public Domain Library
Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers. - Musical America.com
"The business source for the performing arts." - Worldwide Internet Music Resources
Sub-topics
Classical Music | Composer Biographies & Works | Instruments | Jazz | Music History | Opera
- Classical Music
- Carolina Classical Collection
"An index of Classical Music Web site links covering all historical periods from the Middle Ages through the 20th Century." - Classical Music Home Page
"The purpose of this home page is to provide a point-of-entry into various informational files about classical music, as well as links to other interesting web sites. Classical Net features more than 2700 CD reviews, as well as 6000 files and over 4000 links to other classical music web sites." - Essentials of Music
"Provides basic information about classical music with overviews of the six main periods in music history, brief biographies of nearly 70 composers, and a glossary with musical examples."
- Carolina Classical Collection
- Back to the top
- Composer Biographies & Works
- Dr. Estrella's Incredibly Abridged Dictionary of Composers
"A chronological listing of famous composers of Western Music. Each listing contains accurate birth and death dates and the country of origin. Several of the entries also are linked to biographical essays and other sites on the web." - J.S. Bach Home Page
"A large informational site about the life and music of Johann Sebastian Bach." - Mozart Project
"Contains a biography of Mozart (with chronology and family tree), a listing of his compositions (by date and category), selected essays about him and his music, plus reviews of books on Mozart."
- Dr. Estrella's Incredibly Abridged Dictionary of Composers
- Back to the top
- Instruments
- Guide to Medieval & Renaissance Instruments
"This site showcases Musica Antiqua's large replica instrument collection by supplying photos, descriptions, original quotes, additional sources, and sounds of the instruments used in performing early music." - MHN Instrument Encyclopedia
"Searchable by name, geographic region, building materials used and the Sachs Hobostel classification scheme, the database provides users with instrument images, textual descriptions and an occasional sound file. Please Note: a frames-capable browser is required." - Oddmusic.com
"This site provides resources and information for "anyone interested in unique, unusual, ethnic, or experimental music and instruments." - Piano.net
"As the official Web site of the National Piano Foundation, PianoNet is your comprehensive guide to everything about pianos--their history, their manufacture, noted artists, important publications and more." - Rhythmweb: Percussion & Drums
"Searchable by country and instrument this site indexes web sites focusing on percussion instruments and music from various cultures."
- Guide to Medieval & Renaissance Instruments
- Back to the top
- Jazz
- All About Jazz
"This comprehensive site includes jazz news, reviews, festivals, interviews, audio downloads, photos, and biographies of over 3600 jazz musicians. - Great Day in Harlem
"Explore jazz history through one photograph" of 57 jazz musicians taken in Harlem in August 1958. Site includes a timeline on jazz history and biographies of jazz musicians browsable by artist, musical style, or instrument." - Jazz: A Film by Ken Burns
"The online counterpart to Ken Burns' documentary Jazz includes extensive biographical profiles and discographies of major jazz musicians, a chronology of the development of jazz, essays about jazz and its place in American culture, and audio clips of jazz compositions." - Red Hot Jazz Archive
"Contains not only hyperlinked biographies, discographies and photos of over sixty early jazz artists and ninety bands, but also selections of their music in Real Audio format."
- All About Jazz
- Back to the top
- Music History
- American Roots Music
"Explore roots music: blues, country, gospel, bluegrass, cajun, zydeco, tejano, and Native American music. This is a companion site to the four-part PBS series, with each part individually summarized." - Lift Every Voice: Music in American Life
"An exploration of the history of the ballads, hymns, spirituals, patriotic odes, minstrel and musical works, and protest songs of the United States." - Music History 102: A Guide to Western Composers and Their Music from the Middle Ages to the Present
"An extensive original collection of text, images, and audio clips of great works of Western classical music." - This Day in Music History
- American Roots Music
- Back to the top
- Opera
- Aria Database
"1278 Arias - 170 Operas - 60 Composers - 381 Translations - 1027 Aria Texts - 223 MIDIs" - Gilbert & Sullivan Archives
"This includes a description of the operas. You can listen to MIDI and MPEG audio files, in addition to searching the librettos and ballads. There is a collection of opening night reviews from the original performances in the Savoy Theatre in London from 1891-1899." - New York City Opera
"The homepage for the New York City Opera provides information about the current season and online ticket ordering. It also provides am online quiz, synopses of more than 30 operas, biographies of composers and librettists, and extensive links to other opera sites." - Opera Companies on the Web
"Database provides information about the programs of opera companies around the world."
- Aria Database
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Glossary of Musical Terms
- Jazz Slang Terminology
- Medieval Music Glossary
- Music Dictionary and Terminology
- Solomon's Glossary of Technical Musical Terms
Associations & Organizations
- American Musicological Society
- American Music Therapy Association
- Electronic Music Foundation
"Devoted to the promotion and understanding of http://www.flashrock.com/dictionary/music_dictionary.htmelectronic music and arts." - Music Associations List
Other Internet Guides
- George F. Devine Music Library
"This is a music site that functions as a meta-list and finding guide to vast territories of the Internet concerned with all types and genres of music and musicians." - Musicians and Injuries
"A collection of links, books and tapes." - The Symphony: an Interactive Guide
"The aim of The Symphony: An Interactive Guide is to provide a comprehensive resource for people wanting to expand their knowledge of the symphony - Western art music's richest and most important genre."
Created by Randy Abbott on 22 August 03 . Last update: 11 Oct 12