Mathematics and Statistics
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
For Starters
- Penn State Mathematics Web Guide
A simple search engine enables the user to surf through this site's contents quickly and relatively easily. You can find links for Math department homepages, journals, preprints, commercial Web sites, and much more. - Mathematics : The Largest Known Primes
This site contains the following sections: Introduction (What are primes? Who cares?); The "Top Ten" Record Primes; The Complete List of the Largest Known Primes; Other Sources of Prime Information; Notation and Definitions; and Euclid's Proof of the Infinitude of Primes. - History of Mathematics Archives
The archive many useful resources, including biographies of more than 1300 mathematicians, articles on the development of mathematical ideas and famous curves, Mathematician of the Day, birthplace maps, and much more. There is a search engine. - MathSearch
This Web site searchs over 200,000 English-language documents on mathematics and statistics servers across the Web. The majority of documents are concerned with research-level and university mathematics. - Statistics Related Internet Sources
This Web site houses Dartmouth's collection of annotated statistics Internet sites. Areas include mailing lists, data, government resources, polls and surveys, professional societies and much more. - Statistics - WWW Virtual Library
A huge site with links to mailing lists, newsgroups, software vendors, societies, academic departments on six continents and much more. - Math in Daily Life
This site shows how math helps us in our daily lives. It demonstrates math concepts such as probability, compounding, growth, geometry, and relationships in situations such as gambling, savings and investing, population growth, home decorating, and cooking. Links to other Web sites of related math interests. - World of Mathematics
Also known as MathWorld, this site is a "comprehensive, and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers." The subject index includes algebra, applied mathematics, calculus and analysis, discrete mathematics, the foundations and history of mathematics, geometry, number theory, probability and statistics, recreational mathematics, and topology. In addition, there is a complete alphabetical index and a good search engine. Developed in parallel with the CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, in print and on CD-ROM.
Sub-topics
Preprints | E-journals | Math Software and Tools | Probability | Statistical Software and Tools
- Preprints
- Back to the top
- E-journals
- Electronic Journals in Mathematics
- American Journal of Mathematics
Available through Project Muse, this journal is only available from 1996 (vol. 118) to the present. - Mathematical Physics Electronic Journal
According to this Web site, "the intention of the journal is to publish papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas that are of the highest possible quality." Subscriptions are free. Articles are referred. MPEJ dates back to 1995. - New York Journal of Mathematics
Billing itself as the first electronic general mathematics journal, it is referred in the traditional sense. NYJM originated in 1994 and all issues (fulltext) are available online. - Notices of the AMS
Available online from 1995 to the present. - Electronic Journal of Probability & Electronic Communications in Probability
Both journals are available online since their inception in 1994. The journals are affiliated with the Institute of Mathematical Studies and publish articles and news about all aspects of probability.
- Back to the top
- Math Software and Tools
- GAMS : Guide to Available Mathematical Software
The Guide to Available Mathematical Software project of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) studies techniques to provide scientists and engineers with improved access to reusable computer software which is available to them for use in mathematical modeling and statistical analysis. One of the products of this work is an on-line cross-index of available mathematical software. This system also operates as a virtual software repository. - Math Works Library ftp software
- National HPCC Software Exchange
The NHSE is a distributed collection of software, documents, data, and information of interest to the high performance and parallel computing community. - Yahoo:Mathematics:Software
It's Yahoo! so expect quite a few links and categories for further investigation. There is a section for Statistical Software.
- GAMS : Guide to Available Mathematical Software
- Back to the top
- Probability
- Probability Tutorials
Offering definations, theorems, and solutions, these 20 tutorials are meant to be a complete online course on measure theory, lebesgue integration and probability. There is also a link to chat with others using the tutorials. - Probability Web
The Probability Web is a collection of pages created by Phil Pollett and maintained by Bob Dodrow to serve people with interests in probability theory and its applications. Information is presented under the following headings: Probability links, Abstracts, Listservers, Newsgroups, People, Jobs, Journals, Software, Books, Booksellers, Conferences, Publishers and Miscellaneous. There is also a rudimentary search engine.
- Probability Tutorials
- Back to the top
- Statistical Software and Tools
- Statistical Reference Datasets
The purpose of this project is to improve the accuracy of statistical software by providing reference datasets with certified computational results that enable the objective evaluation of statistical software. This project was developed by the Statistical Engineering Division and the Mathematical and Computational Sciences Division within the Information Technology Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. - Interactive Statistical Calculation Pages
The Interactive Statistical Pages project represents an ongoing effort to develop and disseminate statistical analysis software in the form of web pages. Utilizing html forms, CGI and Perl scripts, Java, JavaScript and other browser-based technologies, each web page contains within it (or invokes) all the programming needed to perform a particular computation or analysis.
- Statistical Reference Datasets
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Back to the topAssociations & Organizations
- American Mathematical Society
- Mathematical Association of America
- Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
- National Science Foundation
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
- European Research Consortium for Informatics and Mathematics
Other Internet Guides
- Mathematical Atlas
Created by Dave Rusin, this site is organized according to the Mathematics Subject Classification devised by the AMS and its German counterpart. Each division of the classification has its own page with an intro, list of subdivisions, bibliography of general works, selected Web sits and other information. - The World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Mathematics
- Yahoo: Mathematics
- Frank Potter's Science Gems - Mathematics
A nice collection of links on such topics as probability, statistics, number theory, discrete mathematics, and much more. - Statistics and Statistical Graphics Resources
This page provides an annotated, topic-based collection of available resources for statistics, statistical graphics, and computation related to research, data analysis and teaching, now containing over 550 links.
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 3 Jun 99. Last update: 17 May 07