Mass Communications
For Starters | Sub-topics | Associations & Organizations
Mass Communications Article Databases
For Starters
- Communication Studies Resources
A meta-resource for communcations resources. Includes "general resources, listservs related to communication & media; journals; research on the web; citation style guides for electronic & internet sources; advertising; cultural studies (includes popular culture); digital media; gender and race in mass communication; general communication resources; media studies (includes: general, TV, & radio); and rhetorical studies - includes theory and philosophy." - Virtual Institute of Information
Subtitled The Source for Telecommunications, Cybercommunications, and Mass Media Research, this site provides a well-organized directory of links to information on the economic, business, policy, and social aspects of telecommunications and mass media. There are links to current news sources, what's new in the field, industry information, research (including archives), and associations and institutions. Searchable. - Media and Communications Studies
This site is a gateway to Web resources useful in the academic study of media and communication. This site is based in theDepartment of Education in the University of Wales, Aberystwyth (UWA).
Sub-topics
Advertising | Interpersonal Communication | Communication Law & Theory | Journalism | Media Literacy | Broadcasting & Telecommunications
- Interpersonal Communication
-
- Stanford University's Center for the Study of Language and Information
Links to information about integrated theories of language, information, and computation. - Center for Nonverbal Studies : The Nonverbal Dictionary
This illustrated dictionary provides research data on various nonverbal activities, such as arm crossing, yawning, crying, laughing, etc. The Center's goal is to promote the scientific study of nonverbal communication, which includes body movement, gesture, facial expression, adornment and fashion, architecture, mass media, and consumer-product design. The Center maintains a news file of magazine, newspaper, and internet articles featuring research, observations, and commentary on nonverbal issues.
- Stanford University's Center for the Study of Language and Information
- Back to the top
- Communication Law & Theory
-
- Federal Communications Law Journal
- Michigan Telecommunications and Technology Law Review
An on-line journal published by students at the University of Michigan Law School. - Federal Communications Commission
This site features news, job postings and other information posted by the Federal Communications Commission.
- Back to the top
- Journalism
-
- Journalism Resources
This site includes an extremely extensive list of links to journalism sites. Includes are links to general resources, gender and race resources, colleges and schools, listservs and online newsletters, and more. From the University of Iowa. - Journalists' Tool Box
From the American Press Institute, more than 20,000 web resources geared to the research needs of persons working with the media. - Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
FAIR (Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting) is a national media watch group offering well-documented criticism in an effort to correct media bias and imbalance. This site features articles by FAIR members as well as links to related resources.
- Journalism Resources
- Back to the top
- Media Literacy
-
- Who Owns What
"Media companies continue to grow, and a shrinking number of them shape what we view and read. What does that mean for journalists -- and for the nation?" An alphabetical list of media companies and the subsidiaries they own, including magazine, newspaper and book publishers; and radio, television and cable companies. Also included is an essay on media concentration and links to the Web sites of each major media company. From the Columbia Journalism Review. - Media Literacy On-line Project
This site features a comprehensive resource collection related to the influence of media in the lives of children, youth, and adults.
- Who Owns What
- Back to the top
- Broadcasting & Telecommunications
-
- Broadcasters : The World-Wide Web Virtual Library
This page contains a list of national and international TV and radio broadcasters, together with other relevant links to list of broadcasters, satellite information, newsgroups, museums and other sources. - Barry Mishkind's Broadcast FAQ
This site contains questions and answers on the history of radio broadcasting.
- Broadcasters : The World-Wide Web Virtual Library
- Back to the top
Associations & Organizations
Back to the topCreated by John Orsborn on 23 Jul 99. Last update: 1 Dec 05