For Starters | Government Web sites | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Finance Article Databases
- Finance: The World-Wide Web Virtual Library
The Finance World-Wide Web Virtual Library covers topics like financial markets, trading strategies, personal finance, and financial economics, among others. Also organized by sites of interest to finance researchers, finance students, finance executives, investment bankers, and finance educators.
- FINWeb : Financial Economics
FINWeb is managed by Professor James R. Garven at the Baylor University. The primary objective of FINWeb is to list Internet resources providing substantive information concerning economics and finance-related topics. Journals, working papers, databases and more are present in this wide-ranging resource.
FinanceWise is a limited area search engine focusing specifically on financial-only content. Every topic, from risk management to syndicated finance and equities is indexed in depth, with the contents of each site evaluated by finance professionals before sites are allowed into FinanceWise's search index. The search engine allows users to search by keyword, by specific classes of products, suppliers, information or companies, or by sector listings. FinanceWise's editorial review process ensures that the highest quality information appears at the top of the search results. Sites are weighted according to content and the organization's authority in the market.
- Wachowicz's Web World: Web Sites for Discerning Finance Students
This educational financial management site contains categorized and briefly annotated links, over 1,000 PowerPoint slides, interactive quizzes, web-based exercises, and more.
- European Court of Auditors
The Court of Auditors' main task is to monitor the European Union's finances and point out areas where the management needs to be improved. The Court of Auditors web page offers a general introduction to the Court of Auditors, selected recent reports, recent opinions, press releases, and speeches.
- Treasury Financial Manual
The Treasury Financial Manual (TFM) is the Treasury's official publication for financial accounting and reporting of all receipts and disbursements of the U.S. federal government. The manual provides policies, procedures, and instructions for federal departments and agencies, Federal Reserve banks, and other concerned parties to follow in carrying out their fiscal responsibilities.
- Financial Management Service, U.S. Department of the Treasury
The Financial Management Service (FMS) "provides central payment services to Federal program agencies, operates the Federal Government's collections and deposit systems, provides governmentwide accounting and reporting services, and manages the collection of delinquent debt." The FMS web site presents information, guidelines, and publications in these categories: accounting, collections, financial reports, payments, regulations and FOIA.
- State and Local Government Finance Data
The State and Local Government Finance data contains summary information on revenues, expenditures, debt, and cash/securities for the 50 states. Yearly data are available from 1988 to the most recent available. Data may be viewed on screen or downloaded in ascii or spreadsheet formats. The U.S. Census Bureau Governments pages provide statistics on expenditures and revenues, employment and payroll, debts and assets, and employee retirement systems of the federal government, state governments, local governments, and and school districts. Some statistical data are in comma delimited files suitable for downloading, rather than for viewing on the screen.
Back to the top
- Academy of Financial Services
- American Academy of Financial Management
- Financial Management Association
- Midwest Finance Association
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 30 Apr 03. Last update: 15 Sep 07