English
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
For Starters
- Absolute Write
"If you are interested in freelance writing, screnwriting, playwriting, writing novels, comic book writing, greeting cards, poetry, songwriting, or--well, you get the idea--you're in the right place." - Armchair
Grammarian
"Here you will find a compilation of the fundamental usage of English grammar and the underlying rules of punctuation." - Bartleby.com
"The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge." - Bibliomania
"Bibliomania has more than 2000 free texts, study guides and reference resources." - Celebration of Women
Writers
"The Celebration of Women Writers recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history. Our goal is to promote awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing." - Common Errors in
English
"Here we're concerned only with deviations from the standard use of English as judged by sophisticated users such as professional writers, editors, teachers, and literate executives and personnel officers." - Guide to Grammar
and Style
"These notes are a miscellany of grammatical rules and explanations, comments on style, and suggestions on usage I put together for my classes. Nothing here is carved in stone, and many comments are matters of personal preference." - How to
Write a Term Paper
"This guide is designed to support you as you use electronic and print resources." - Paradigm Online Writing
Assistant
"Paradigm is intended to be useful for all writers, from inexperienced to advanced. To get the most from the website, take time to explore its components. Choose a topic that interests you, read the discussion, do an activity, move to another topic." - UE Department of English
Homepage
"Focusing on the best that has ever been thought, said or recorded for history is at the heart of the liberal arts and sciences curriculum. To have this focus, and in the end to become a complete person, requires reading, writing and vigorous discussion." - Write Place
"LEO is the homepage for The Write Place, the writing center at St. Cloud State University." - Yahoo
Authors
Search for information on over 4,400 authors.
Sub-topics
Writing | Poetry | Fiction | English Literature | American Literature | World Literature
- Writing
- National Writer's Union
"The union for freelance writers working in U.S. markets." - Nebraska Center for Writers
"The on-line resource for writers of poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction, providing information, advice, and links of interest to writers and readers across the state and beyond." - Playwriting Seminars
"An opinionated web companion on the art and craft of playwriting." - Writer's Digest
- Writer's Guild of America
"Material to inform and inspire writers--research links, writing tips, articles, an online mentor program and much more."
- National Writer's Union
- Back to the top
- Poetry
- About.com: Poetry
"Each site in our unique network is run by a professional Guide who is carefully screened and trained by About. Guides build a comprehensive environment around each of their specific topics." - Electronic Poetry Center
"The EPC serves as a central gateway to resources in electronic poetry and poetics at the University of Buffalo and on the Web at large." - HyperEpos: Epic on the Internet
"I've gathered here an array of sites focused on epic poetry, aiming for the occasionally quirky as well as the canonical vision of the genre." - Modern American Poetry
"MAPS is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern American poetry." - Time-Line of English Poetry, 658-2001
- Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
- About.com: Poetry
- Back to the top
- Fiction
- SF Site: The Home Page for Science Fiction and Fantasy
"SF Site is composed of many pieces. We have posted a mixture of book reviews, opinion pieces, author interviews, fiction excerpts, author and publisher reading lists and a variety of other features." - Hyperizons: Hypertext Fiction
"Hypertext fiction (aka hyperfiction, interactive fiction, nonlinear fiction) is a new art form that while not necessarily made possible by the computer was certainly made feasible by it." - Overbooked
"Overbooked specializes in literary and genre fiction information." - Write News
"News, features, and research for media and publishing professionals."
- SF Site: The Home Page for Science Fiction and Fantasy
- Back to the top
- English Literature
- Austen.com
"This site provides a good starting point for people interested in Jane Austen." - Complete Works of Christopher Marlowe
"This site provides an edition of Marlowe's works that begins to transcend the limits of print publication and exploit the flexibility of an electronic medium." - Electronic Canterbury Tales
- Guide to 19th-Century British Literature on the Internet
- Life and Literature of John Milton
"An Internet discussion group devoted to the life, literature and times of the poet John Milton. Currently threre are more than 520 list members from around the world." - Luminarium
"This site combines three sites created in 1996 to provide a starting point for students and enthusiasts of English Literature. Nothing replaces a quality library, but hopefully this site will help fill the needs of those who have not access to one." - Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
"My motive in publishing these pages remains to help and stimulate others in Shakespeare studies, and especially those who might contribute their work to the Internet."
- Austen.com
- Back to the top
- American Literature
- American Literature at Keele
"In American literature, general interests cover fiction and poetry in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries." - F. Scott Fitzgerald Centenary
"This Web Site celebrates his writings, his life, and his relationship with other writers of the twentieth century." - Life and Works of Herman Melville
- Literary Kicks
"The site is devoted to a few experimental literary movements that tried to uncover some deeper truths about life." - Mark Twain in His Times
"This interpretive archive, drawn largely from the resources of the Barrett Collection, focuses on how "Mark Twain" and his works were created and defined, marketed and performed, reviewed and appreciated." - Qrisse's Edgar Allan Poe Pages
- Storytellers: Native American Authors Online
"This site was conceived with a very particular aim: to make the writing of modern Native American authors, particularly the poets, both more visible and more widely available." - SAC LitWeb -- the American Literature Index
- American Literature at Keele
- Back to the top
- World Literature
- Australian Literature on the Internet
- Cervantes Project
"Comprehensive reference and research site dedicated to the study of Cervantes' works and life." - Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
"This page lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. Translations are mentioned only when they are included in collections of original language texts, or when they are themselves of interest." - Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore and Drama
- James Joyce Centre
- Proust's TempsPerdu.com
"This site is intended to be of interest to lay readers of Proust, as well as to those doing research on the novel."
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
- Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
- Merriam-Webster Online
- Roget's Thesaurus
- Yourdictionary.com
Associations & Organizations
- Academy of American Poets
- Bread Loaf Writers Conference
- Directory of American Poets and Fiction Writers
- International Women's Writing Guild
- Mystery Writers ofAmerica
- Poets & Writers, Inc.
- Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America
Other Internet Guides
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
- Hamlet Online
"This page offers a directory of web pages devoted to Hamlet." - Literary Resoruces on the Net
- Literary Resources-Classical and Biblical
- Official Stephen King Web Presence
- Pulitzer Prizes
- Women Writers: A Zine
"Read thought-provoking critical articles on everything from Emily Dickinson to Monique Wittig."
Created by Randy Abbott on 18 Oct 02. Last update: 21 Aug 08