Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Resource Guides
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Article Databases
For Starters
- CiteSeer.IST: Scientific Literature Digital Library
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science (over 730,000 documents currently available). CiteSeer attempts to provide algorithms, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used in other digital libraries. - Chronology of Events in the History of Microcomputers
Collection of product announcements and delivery dates from various sources, mainly computer magazines and newspapers. - CMPNet
News from the world of high-tech computing. - CNET.com
News, reviews, and tools for the digital home and workplace. - Computer Almanac-Numbers about Computers
This is a collection of numbers relevant to computers, along with references. - Computer and Communication: Standards
A good collection of standards sites for the computer and communication industry. - Computer Science
An annotated collection of links arranged by category. Included are dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic journals, algorithm collections, associations, organization, societies, programming languages, courses, tutorials, employment, and much more. New items and those only accessible through the University of Albany are indicated. From the University at Albany Libraries. - Hobbes' Internet Timeline
A brief history of the Internet, 1956--present. Comprehensive and concise. Good! - National High Performance Computing and Communication (HPCC) Software Exchange
A distributed collection of software, documents, data, and information of interest to the high performance and parallel computing community. - Whatis
whatis (TM) is a knowledge exploration tool about information technology, especially about the Internet and computers. It contains over 1,500 individual encyclopedic definition/topics and a number of quick-reference pages. The topics contain over 5,000 hyperlinked cross-references and over 3,000 links to others sites for further information. - Yahoo!-Science: Computer Science
Searchable catalog of computer science web sites.
Sub-topics
Internet & WWW | Tools | E-Journals | Artificial Intelligence | Electronic Computer Aided Design | UNIX
- Internet & WWW
-
- HTML 4.0 Working Draft Release
A list of sites leading you to different formats available for HTML 4.0 working drafts. - The Source for JAVA Technology
A collection of Java FAQs, products, tutorial, documentation index, whitepapers (a short description of the Java Language), Java series of publications, APIs, and JavaWorld (magazine for the Java community). - Yahoo! Computers and Internet
A searchable catalog of computers and Web sites.
- HTML 4.0 Working Draft Release
- Back to the top
- Tools
-
- A First Guide to PostScript
Intended as a simple introduction to programming in the PostScript language from Adobe. It serves as an easily accessible on-line tutorial, assuming some experience in programming and familiarity with concepts, such as arrays and variables. - Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters
A list of freely available software for language tools, which includes the following: compilers, compiler generators, interpreters, translators, important libraries, assemblers, etc. - Computing Languages List
This is a list of specific computing languages, ranging from ABC (interactive personal computing, originally intended as a good replacement for BASIC) to the Z notation (pronounced "zed"). - Ghostscript, Ghostview and GSview
Home page for Ghostscript, an interpreter for the PostScript language and for PDF, a related software documentation. - LaTeX Resources
A collection of LaTeX resources from different educational and research institutes worldwide. - Object-Oriented Information Sources
This page collects pointers to various information sources on the World Wide Web related to Object-Oriented languages and systems. First installed June 30, 1993. The Object FAQ may also be helpful. - PERL--Practical Extraction and Report Language
An interpreted language optimized for scanning arbitrary text files, extracting information from those files, and printing reports based on that information. It is also a good language for many management tasks. - Presenting Java: Information Sources
This is a list of online information sources about the Java(tm) programming language, the browers HotJava(tm), and related technologies. For sources on the latest news on Java, see the Java(tm) News Tip Sheet. - Resources for Programming Language Research
A collection of information and resources for research in programming language theory, design, implementation, and related topics. - Internet Scout Project: Scout Toolkit
Meta-pages arranged by discipline. - Visual Language Research Bibliography
This page is a structured bibliography of papers pertaining to visual language (VL) research. It also contains a brief list of links to other, related resources about visual language research.
- A First Guide to PostScript
- Back to the top
- E-Journals
-
- ACM Publications
Includes news, special interest groups, journals and magazines, newsletters and proceedings, books, and the online catalogue of ACE, the Association for Computing Machinery. - BYTE Magazine
The BYTE archive for text can be searched since January 1994, and for complete text and graphics since January 1995. The Virtual Press Room (VPR) on the BYTE site has recent press releases and new product announcements for the computer industry. - CogPrints Electronic Archive
CogPrints is modelled on and associated with the NSF-and DOE-supported Los Alamos Eprint Archive for Physics and Associated Disciplines, which currently receives 25,000 new papers annually and has 35,000 users daily. - IEEE Design & Test of Computers
Covers original works describing the methods used to design and test electronic product hardware and supportive software. The magazine focuses on current and near-future practice, and includes tutorials, how-to articles, and real-world case studies. Topics include IC/module design, low-power design, electronic design automation, design/test verification, practical technology, and standards. - IEEE Software
Delivers reliable, useful, leading-edge software development information to keep engineers and managers abreast of rapid technological change. Peer-reviewed articles, topical interviews, and columns by seasoned practitioners illuminate all aspects of the industry, including process improvement, project management, development tools, software maintenance, Web applications and opportunities, testing, and human factors. - Journal of Functional and Logic Programming
A MIT Press publication, it covers a broad scope of topics from functional and logic programming. "It is specially concerned with the integration of the functional and logic paradigms as well as their common foundations. It expects articles ranging from the theoretical foundations of functional and logic programming up to the application of such languages in the real world." - MacCentral
Top stories from the latest issue of MacWEEK magazine, reviews from past issues, contact information and more. New stories, features and opinion pieces are posted each weekday, and the majority of the stories from each week's issue are available by the Monday of publication. - Yahoo! -Science: Computer Science: Journals
Searchable catalog of online computer science journals.
- ACM Publications
- Back to the top
- Artificial Intelligence
- Back to the top
- Electronic Computer Aided Design
-
- CADalog -- AutoCAD shareware clearinghouse.
- CADALYST -- Offers news, tips, reviews, tutorials, AutoLISP code, and more.
- Introduction to AutoCAD & more -- Notes outline the general characteristics of the PC-based drafting system known as AutoCAD.
- UC Berkeley CAD Group
- Back to the top
- UNIX
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- CCI Dictionary
A searchable computer current interactive dictionary. - Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
- PC Webopaedia
The online encyclopedia and search engine dedicated to computer technology.
Associations & Organizations
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
- Corporation for National Research Initiatives
- Center for Research on Parallel Computation
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
- International Computer Science Institute (ICSI)
- National Science Foundation
- The World's Computer Society
Other Resource Guides
- Bibliography of Computing, Ethics, and Social Responsibility
- Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature covering most aspects of computer science from various sources. The about 1200 bibliographies are updated monthly from their original locations.
Created by Randy Abbott on 23 Jul 99. Last update: 6 Nov 07