Chemistry
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Resource Guides
For Starters
- UE Department of Chemistry Web Server
Lots of links to courses descriptions, faculty, research opportunities, seminar schedules and much more. - Periodic Table - WebElements
The most complete table of elements. Contains links to data from Hydrogen, element 1 to Ununoctium, element 118, discovered in 1999, the heaviest element. - ChemDex Index - Sheffield
Best starting point for chemistry on the Internet. Currently indexing, and selectively annotating more than 4,000 sites. There is a searchable version, Chemdex plus - that requires (free) registration. - Links for Chemists
Directory of more than 7,350 links (not annotated) to chemistry resources. The more than 60 categories include: University Chemistry Departments;Companies/Industry/Manufacturers - chemical company profiles, instruments, supplies, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals; Publishing; Information - conferences, databases, dictionaries, jobs, careers, encyclopedia, fundamental constants, MSDS, patents, periodic tables; Chemistry Software; Organizations; Topics - analytical, electrochemistry, organic, radioactivity, nano technology and self assembly, surface science, and synchrotron labs. Also available in German and French. - ChemFinder.com
Working from a master list of chemical compounds the ChemFinder WebServer lets you search by chemical name, CAS Number, molecular formula, or molecular weight. They also provide a list of the sites they index, a short glossary of terms used, and an excellent FAQ file for using ChemFinder. - Chemistry Functions
A page that will do various calculations related to chemistry. Moles can be converted to particles; pounds to grams; grams to moles; and various others. The reverse is also computed for some conversions. It also provides the mass of the elements on the periodic table and various compounds. - SciVee.TV
SciVee.TV broadcasts science videos and pubcasts for free. It was created for scientists, by scientists, and has partnerships with the Public Library of Science and the NSF.
Sub-topics
e-Journals | Organic Chemistry | Inorganic Chemistry | Biochemistry | Newsgroups & Listservs
- e-Journals
-
- Biochemical Journal - Fulltext and graphics are available to those with a subscription; Abstracts are available from 1976-present.
- Journal of Chromatographic Science - ABSTRACTS ONLY from 1995-present
- Russian Chemical Reviews - ABSTRACTS ONLY from 1993-present. Fulltext is available to those with a subscription.
- Back to the top
- Organic Chemistry
-
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
This site's mission is to collect and independently annotate all useful organic chemistry sites and to present them in an intuitive way. It's broken down into six parts - literature, the bench, structural analysis, the desk, communication and additional activities. - General, Organic and Biochemistry
A series of powerpoint lectures on over twenty different chemistry-related topics can be found here. Each unit has a chapter summary, key reactions and a practice exam.
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
- Back to the top
- Inorganic Chemistry
-
- Structures of Simple Inorganic Solids
This site provides lecture outlines to an introductory course at Oxford University on structure of simple inorganic solids. The topics covered include solid and sphere packing, "ionic" structures, and oxide structures and networks. A problem set and an online practical accompany the lecture outlines. - Inorganic Reaction Mechanisms I
This site provides brief lecture notes to a second year course at Oxford University on inorganic reaction mechanisms. The topics covered include: substitution reactions of square planar metal complexes, cis and trans effects, trans influence, substitution of octahedral metal complexes, anation and solvolysis reactions and electron transfer reactions.
- Structures of Simple Inorganic Solids
- Back to the top
- Biochemistry
-
- General, Organic and Biochemistry
A series of powerpoint lectures on over twenty different chemistry-related topics can be found here. Each unit has a chapter summary, key reactions and a practice exam. - Biochemistry Review Tables
- General, Organic and Biochemistry
- Back to the top
- Newsgroups, Listservs &s Blogs
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Back to the topAssociations & Organizations
- American Chemical Society
- European Chemical Society
- International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- Society of Chemical Industry
Other Resources
- WWW Virtual Library: Chemistry
This has one of the best, most comprehensive, easy-to-use directories available. The contents page is arranged by type of site from academic institutions and nonprofit organizations to commercial ones. It also indexes gopher servers and usenet groups and links to other sites for Chemistry Resources. - Classic Chemistry
The heart of this site is Selected Classic Papers from the history of chemistry, which links to dozens of seminal texts in philosophy of chemistry, the physics of chemistry, biochemistry, and other chemistry topics. Texts range from excerpts to complete texts and include scientists such as Lucretius, Aristotle, Dalton, Faraday, Lavoisier, and Bohr. Arranged by subjects and titles. In addition, there is a This Week in the History of Chemistry section;a glossary of archaic chemical terms; and annotated links to other Web sites with related biographical and historical information. - Chemistry-Based QuickTime, Shockwave Flash, GIF
Animations, and Streaming Audio
A collection of "animations [that] support the teaching of concepts in chemistry in freshman through graduate level courses." Concepts include chemiluminescence, electrophoresis, gas chromatography, spectroscopy, and more. From a professor at Sam Houston State University, Texas.
Created by Meg Atwater-Singer on 15 Mar 00. Last update: 24 Feb 09 mas