Biology
For Starters | Sub-topics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Associations & Organizations | Other Internet Guides
For Starters
- BioABACUS: Biotechnology Abbreviation and Acronym Uncovering Service
BioABACUS is a searchable database of abbreviations and acronyms in Biotechnology that contains terms in such categories as: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Computers and Internet, Diseases, Grants, Journals, Laboratories, Medicine, Molecular Biology/Genetics, Neuroscience, Other Organizations, Professional Societies and US Government. - e-Nature Online Field Guides
"Search the National Audubon nature guides online, find detailed species descriptions then save your own notes in the eNature Life Lists." - Infomine's Biological, Agricultural and Medical Sciences
A powerful searching tool for finding information by subject, keyword, etc. - Kimball's Biology Pages
Kimball's Biology Pages consist of a list of topics, arranged alphabetically, of biological terms. The terms are mostly from the areas of molecular and cellular biology. Each item may include: a definition;underlined links to other definitions; links to 'mini' essays on the topic. - SciVee.TV
SciVee.TV broadcasts science videos and pubcasts for free. It was created for scientists, by scientists, and has partnerships with the Public Library of Science and the NSF. - World of Cells
Illustrations and definitions of plant and animal cells.
Sub-topics
Botany & Mycology | Developmental Biology | Ecology & Environmental Sciences | Genetics, Molecular Biology & Evolution | Human Anatomy & Physiology | Microbiology & Bacteriology | Zoology
- Botany & Mycology
-
- Virtual Library of Botany/Plant Biology
A broad directory of botany resources, this site offers links to plant taxonomy, genetics, natural history, and related sites. - Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book is a subject oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology, and all related fields. On these pages you will find plant pathology related internet sites and more useful resources. - Plants Database
This web site is a center for National Plant information. The PLANTS database "focuses on the vascular and nonvascular plants of the United States." - Prairie Source.com
Prairiesource.com is subtitled "Your Total Prairie Resource. It is an informational resource for all things regarding prairie, native grasses, wildflowers, and related topics." - Ultimate Tree-Ring Web Pages
Welcome and thank you for visiting the ultimate tree-ring web pages, designed to be the ULTIMATE source for information on tree-ring research (dendrochronology). - WWW Virtual Library: Mycology
These pages summarize internet resources of interest to mycologists.
- Virtual Library of Botany/Plant Biology
- Back to the top
- Developmental Biology
-
- Basic Embryology Review Program
This website follows the development of a human fetus from fertilization to birth. Currently, the Overview is the only chapter that is available, but links to various systems illustrate where the program plans to go. - Dynamic Development
Billing itself as a "modular resource to facilitate learning in developmental biology," this website has links to these modules: gametogenesis, foundations, genetic regulation, organization, cell diversity and a tutorial. There are also sample examples for two developmental bio classes taught at the University of Calgary.
- Basic Embryology Review Program
- Back to the top
- Genetics, Molecular Biology & Evolution
-
- Cell & Molecular Biology Online
The goal of Cell and Molecular Biology Online is to serve as a general resource for the biology community with an emphasis on information for cell and molecular biologists. - DNA from the Beginning
Divided into three main sections - Classical Genetics, Molecules of Genetics and Genetic Organization & Control - this site explains the science behind each concept through animation, video interviews, images and much more. - Glossary of Genetics Terms
- New Gene Map of the Human Genome
Diagrams of the human genome system. Charts of each separate gene highlight important genes and their known functions. - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
OMIM is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. The database contains textual information, pictures, and reference information. - Students Guide to the Human Genome Project
- The Tree of Life
This huge and ambitious project organizes, surveys, and displays the diversity, evolutionary history, and characteristics of all groups of living organisms. This attractive and expertly managed site has over 1300 pages housed on 20 computers in four countries, and is authored by biologists from around the world.
- Cell & Molecular Biology Online
- Back to the top
- Human Anatomy & Physiology
-
- Anatomy of the Human Body (Gray's Anatomy)
Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings (many in color) from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn. - Columbia/HCA Virtual Body
This website has "a series of elaborate presentations of the various parts and functions of the human body" ADAM Software provides the anatomical images for Columbia/HCA's Virtual Body Project. (requires Shockwave plug-in) - Digital Anatomist Project
The Digital Anatomist Project is motivated by the belief that anatomy is the basis of all the biomedical sciences. Anatomical information is represented through the generation of graphical models derived from cadaver and clinical imaging data and, by symbolic modeling of the structures and relationships that constitute the human body. - The eSkeletons Project
The e-Skeletons Project website enables you to view the bones of a human, gorilla, and baboon and gather information about them from an osteology database. - The Heart: An Online Exploration
Listen to healthy and diseased hearts, view Quicktimes of open-heart surgery and echocardiograms, review x-rays, learn how the heart works, even take an animated trip down a coronary artery. You can learn how to correctly take your own pulse (five different ways) and how to keep your heart healthy. - Retina Reference
Scientific and mathematical discussion of the retina. Information about molecular and cellular structure. Includes a bibliography of vision-related articles, diagrams, mathematical equations, and sections on the retinal neuron and the anatomy of eye. - Screenwriter's Guide to the Autopsy
The purpose of this paper is to make available to screenwriters, novelists, and other interested individuals an authentic detailed narrative account of a routine postmortem examination (autopsy) as performed by a pathologist on a patient who has died in hospital.
- Anatomy of the Human Body (Gray's Anatomy)
- Back to the top
- Microbiology & Bacteriology
-
- All the Virology on the WWW
All the Virology on the WWW seeks to be the best single site for Virology information on the Internet. We have collected all the virology related Web sites that might be of interest to our fellow virologists, and others interested in learning more about viruses. - Antibody Resource Page
Features an extensive compilation of antibody information and advice for locating specific antibodies. - Bugs in the News
Leads to the collection of articles, in layman terms, covering science in the news, especially molecular biology-"Bugs in the News." Includes images of biological molecules from national laboratories. - E. Coli Index
These pages contain a comprehensive guide to information relating to the model organism Escherichia coli. - Museum of Bacteria
"The Foundation for Bacteria was founded in March 1999. The corporation's purpose is to promote, advance and advocate the common interest of the scientific community and the general public in scientific research and education related to bacteria, diseases caused by bacteria, and the utilization of bacteria to solve specific problems of humankind." - NCBI Taxonomy Browser
National Center for Biotechnology Information provides this quick and easy tool for finding the complete lineage for any species. The database allows searches by common name as well as scientific name.
- All the Virology on the WWW
- Back to the top
- Zoology -- Sub-topics in Zoology
Birds | Fish & Marine Life | Invertebrates (Insects, Arachnids, etc.) | Mammals | Reptiles & Amphibians -
- Birds
-
- Cornell Lab of Ornithology
An extensive site for everyone who is interested in birds (ornithology). There is information about the Lab's research, publications, happenings and much more. Interested citizens can take part in the annual Christmas bird count, can get tips on birdhouses, and listen to the extensive library of bird calls. An excellent site! - Duckdata
A comprehensive, searchable, bibliography of published writings on the ecology, conservation, and management of North American waterfowl (Anatidae) and their wetland habitats. - Hummingbird Web Site
Filled with beautiful pictures and lots of information, this site is a pleasure for any bird enthusiast to browse. - Owl Pages
A site devoted to owls from Australia, North America, and other parts of the world. Each breed has information about its appearance, size, hunting, breeding, mortality, and habitat. - Raptor Center
The Raptor Center is an international medical facility for birds of prey.
- Cornell Lab of Ornithology
- Back to the top
- Fish & Marine Life
-
- American Zoo & Aquarium Association
They represent "virtually every professionally operated zoological park, aquarium, oceanarium, and wildlife park in North America...." - Fishing World
This searchable site has an enormous amount of material for the fisher. - Shark Research Program
This searchable site presents information, with many drawings and photographs, about sharks and rays. - Whale Watching Web
A directory of links to other whale watching Web sites worldwide, including commercial and nonprofit ones.
- American Zoo & Aquarium Association
- Back to the top
- Invertebrates
-
- So You Want to Identify a Spider?
Directory of links, with descriptions, to good Web resources for the study of arachnids (spiders and relatives.) - Bumblebee Pages
Information about bumblebees including their lifecycle and anatomy along with photos and diagrams. - Butterflies of North America
Distribution in all the states and northern Mexico, with pages, most with photos, of thousands of butterflies, listed by families within each state. - Firefly Files
Everything you ever wanted to know about fireflies. - Myrmecology Portal
This searchable site includes information about ant colonies, larvae, nests, feeding habits, and related aspects of their biology.
- So You Want to Identify a Spider?
- Back to the top
- Mammals
-
- American Kennel Club
This comprehensive site has the AKC's Directory of Breeds - with photos and complete descriptions of the 148 recognized dog breeds, current registration statistics, as well as upcoming events and its official publication - The AKC Gazette. - Animal Info: Information on Rare, Threatened and Endangered Mammals
This site is concerned solely with rare, threatened and endangered mammals throughout the world. Info on each animal includes a basic profile, status, degree of endangeredness, current distribution, reasons for decline, data on biology and ecology and references. Can search by individual species, species group or by country. - Bear Den
Comprehensive information on all eight bear species including grizzlies, pandas, polar bears, black bears, asiatic black bears, sun bears, spectacled bears, and sloth bears. - Wolf Studies Project
A focal point for worldwide environmental education about wolves, their interrelationships with other species, and their role within human cultures. - Primate Info Net
This site links to information on primate physiology, anatomy, ecology, conservation, and more.
- American Kennel Club
- Back to the top
- Reptiles & Amphibians
-
- Gator Hole
This talks about alligators and their kin, their habitat, feeding habits, reproduction, and myths and facts. Also discussed are alligator farming, alligator products, attractions, pictures, and lists of related links. - Interactive Frog Dissection: An Online Tutorial
An interactive site designed to teach students the anatomy of a frog as well as how to dissect it. The instructions and photographs are clear. - Sea Turtle Migration
Although the primary purpose here is to provide satellite tracking maps for tagged Caribbean sea turtles, the site also provides good background information on species, behavior, and conservation activities.
- Gator Hole
- Back to the top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- AgriPedia
Agripedia has been created to allow students to use resources across the country in an integrated, interactive learning resource on the Internet. As an "encyclopedia of agriculture", Agripedia presents facts, figures, demonstrations, examples, graphics, and more regarding the concepts, practices, and vocabulary of agriculture in a multimedia format using audio clips, graphics, text and animation. - BioTech's Life Science Dictionary
Currently, most of our 8300+ terms deal with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics. We also have some terms relating to ecology, limnology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine. - Garden Dictionary
National Gardening Association, 15,000 main entries. - Glossary of Genetic Terms
National Human Genone Research Institute glossary, including audio glossary. - On-line Biology Glossary
Associations & Organizations
- American Birding Association
- American Institute of Biological Sciences
- Botanical Society of America
- Greenpeace
- Indiana Department of Environmental Management
- NCSE: National Council for Science & the Environment
- National Science Teachers Association
- Sierra Club
Other Internet Guides
- BiologyBrowser
An interactive portal designed "to connect life sciences researchers with free, useful resources and other like-minded scientists from all around the world." Includes annotated links to news and life science Web sites, a nomenclatural glossary for zoology, a zoological thesaurus, a forum for biologists and scientists to discuss findings, and more. Searchable. - Earthwatch Institute
The mission of the Earthwatch Institute is to promote sustainable conservation of our natural resources and cultural heritage by creating partnerships between scientists, educators and the general public. - Human Genome: A Guide to Online Information Sources
Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop,genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use this data in their research efforts. - Molecular Biology Databases
Accesses searchable DNA and protein sequence databases available on the Internet. - National Center for Biotechnology Information
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. - Scott's Botanical Links
Annotated searchable collection of botany-related Internet sites, selected with the advanced high school or college student in mind. A new site is added each day. - WWW Virtual Library: Sustainable Development
A comprehensive list of internet sites dealing with sustainable development, including organisations, projects and activities, electronic journals, libraries, references and documents, databases, directories or metadatabases.
Created by Randy Abbott on 14 Feb 01. Last update: 15 Sep 07